www.playsubtly.com / News / All God Of War Games Made And Their Storyline From The First To Recent

All God Of War Games Made And Their Storyline From The First To Recent

All God Of War Games Made And Their Storyline From The First To Recent

God of war is unarguable to be the best video game ever made based on Greek mythology. In this post, you will be opened to all god of war games made and their storyline from the first to recent.

All god of war games developed and their Storyline has been a journey of strength and domination for Kratos as gamers are expected to welcome God of War: Ragnarok is Coming any time soon.

So far, there has been 7 God of war games made following the success of it’s very first, “God of War”. The expected Ragnarok will make it a total of 9 games of it’s franchise developed and released by developer Santa Monica.

Check Out: God Of War Ragnarok PPSSPP ISO (God Of War 5 PSP)

All God of War Game and Storyline


Kratos journey all started with the very first God of War, which was published by Sony Computer Entertainment for PS2 in 2005. The game won a lot of awards that period as it made sales of over 4.6million copies and ranked 7th best PS 2 game ever made.

In God of War, gamers play as Kratos (a spartian warrior), the main protagonist of the game as they go on a quest of ending the existence of the God of War, Ares, who tricked Kratos in killing his own wife and daughter. The award winning game was very much a success and a second chapter was put into consideration.


Its all about vengeance. Kratos now becomes the new god of war, following the defeat of Ares. God of War II finds Kratos betrayed by the King of Olympian gods, Zeus. Zeus took away Kratos godhood and sent him to the underworld in death. Saved by Titan Gaia, he journeys to return back in time and take revenge on Zeus.

Like the first, it made over 4million sales, and was ranked second best game of PS2. It was published by Sony for; PS2, PS3 and PS4 Vita. This installment along with God of War, was released for PS3, remastered as part of the God of War Collection.


God of War: Betrayal is the third installment of the GOW franchise. It was released by Sony only for Java ME, and won awards for best platform game. The game as the title entails, is all about betrayal as Kratos I’d framed for the death of Argos. In redeeming himself, Kratos chase the assassin across Greece, which led to a confrontation from Olympian messenger, Ceryx.


Chains of Olympus is the fourth installment of GOW and the second journey Kratos took with a guide from goddess Athena following the first God of War game. It was published by Sony for PS 3 and PlayStation Portable.

Athena instructs him to find Helios, the Sun god, follow the slumber attack on gods by Dream god Morpheus. Kratos must stop Morpheus and his aid, Persephone, Queen of the Underworld, before they destroy Olympus with the power of the Sun.


GOW III was released in 2010 by Developer Santa Monica, and published by Sony for PS3 and PS4. 2 years after it’s release, it achieved sales of over 5million copies.

Betrayed and killed in God of War II, Kratos seeks his revenge on Zeus and Olympian gods. He reignited the great war and ascends Mount Olympus with the aid of some previous allies; Titan Gaia and Athena. Battling gods and monsters along the way, Kratos defeated Zeus and end the reign of the Olympian gods.


Kratos journeys to seek the origin of his mortal past. During his quest, he finds his mother and discovered his brother Deimos is still alive. It wasn’t much of a joyful reunion as Kratos frees Deimos from the domain of death. But later on, they solved differences and team up to battle Thanatos, the god of death.


GOW: Ascension, released on the 12th of March, 2013

Betrayed by God of War Ares and tricked into killing his wife and daughter, Kratos renounce Ares. Breaking the blood oath before the god, he faced imprisonment and tortured by the three furies. In God of War Ascension, he journeys to free himself of his bond to Ares with the help of the oath keeper, Orkos.


God of War 4 was launched 2018 and is the eight installment of God of War franchise and most recent released. For the first time, Kratos doesn’t journey alone, he was accompanied by Arteus his young son to fulfill the request of his late second wife and Arteus’ mother, that her ashes be spread at the highest peak of the nine realms. Along the way, they fight gods and monsters.

By 2019, the game achieved a total of 10 million sales making it the most successful ever released.

God Of War Ragnarok


God of War Ragnarök is an upcoming action-adventure game developed by Santa Monica Studio and will be published by Sony Interactive Entertainment (SIE). It is scheduled to be released in 2022 for the PlayStation 4 (PS4) and PlayStation 5 (PS5).

It will be the ninth installment in the God of War series, the ninth chronologically, and the sequel to 2018’s God of War. Loosely based on Norse mythology, the game will be set in ancient Scandinavia and feature series protagonists Kratos and his teenage son Atreus.

Serving as the finale to the Norse era of the series, the game will cover Ragnarök, a series of events that bring about the end of days, and depicts the deaths of some of the Norse gods, which was foretold to happen in the previous game after Kratos killed the Æsir god Baldur.

God of War Ragnarok is set to be launched 2022. That’s all the God Of War Games made so far and their Storyline from the first to recent.

Subscribe to our Telegram Channel @PlaySubtly.

Take a Review